Garden Party Elegance

In the LDS Church, there is an organization for women called the Relief Society and it plays a powerful part in the Church. The Church is broken up into groupings known as Wards and each ward has its own Relief Society, which teaches and cares for the women in theirimage Ward. Many Relief Society’s hold monthly activities that range from learning new skills (i.e. canning, sewing, cooking, etc.) to service projects to fun nights where you take the time to get to know each other better.

image

You are perhaps wondering why any of this is important to today’s post. I wanted to give a bit of background, because I was recently asked to be apart of my Ward’s Relief Society Activities Committee. Being asked to do a job, otherwise known as a calling, is a big deal, as well as a huge blessing. For especially for me, because it gives a sense of belonging and being needed. With this calling, I get to help plan the activity each month and that is a ton of fun.

The first activity we worked on after I received my calling, was to plan a Garden Party in August. It’s probably not a very traditional garden party, but its a night with yummy food and games, giving everyone a chance to get to know each other better. Such a great idea, especially for someone like me whose only been in the Ward for such a short period of time. image

Everyone was given a job to do and I was given the task of creating three large posters and a small flyer that could be copied en mass to pass out around the neighborhood. I was more than happy to do it, but I think I was given that job because I’m so crafty. Putting together the small flyers was pretty easy once I sat down to do it, because they needed to be simple and simply have all the information about the activity. The large posters, however, needed to be cute and catchy. In my mind I needed to create something that would make the gals in the Ward interested and even excited about attending.

I did a bit of procrastination, it didn’t help that the week of my birthday I came imagedown with strep and wasn’t really up to doing much more than sleep for a whole week. Last night I finally cracked down and set to work. I used the Happy Times paper pack that was Close To My Heart’s Constant Campaign for National Scrapbooking Month back in May. Such a gorgeous paper pack that was absolutely perfect for the Garden Party theme.

I chose to ink the edges of each layer of the base with ink in a corresponding color, it kind of softens the paper and ties in each layer to the next. Honestly its one of my favorite techniques and its so easy to do, all you need is ink in the color of your choice, a piece of sponge and your piece of paper. I also utilized gold gems and sequins all from CTMH’s embellishments. I used to never use embellishments, ever! I admit I was afraid of them because I had no idea what to do withimage them. I love that I’ve experimented with them and have come to love what they add to any project.

No stamping was used on this project, unfortunately. I couldn’t find an alphabet stamp set that conveyed the feel I wanted, so instead I opted to print the information and title on sheets of Daisy White CS. Then I layered the different sheets of paper and added flowers I cut out from a single sheet from the paper pack. I love how they turned out! They aren’t horribly fancy, but they convey a sense of simple elegance.

 

I hope this has inspired you and that you won’t be afraid to try new things!  Remember that the CTMH Annual Idea Book expires at the end of this month and a number of our products will be retiring. So you won’t want to miss out on some of these fun goodies before they are gone. Although I’m sad to see old product go, it always means there is fabulous new product to try out. Head to my Shoppe today and snag your crafting goodies today! Don’t forget to Get Crafty!

Want to see what’s retiring? Check Here to see exactly what’s going!

Products Used

Happy Times Paper Pack (Retired)

Oceanside Sequins (Retired)

Topiary paperTopiary Cardstock

Pixie Paper Pixie Cardstock

Pomegranate PaperPomegranate Cardstock

Topiary InkTopiary Ink

Pomegranate InkPomegranate Cardstock

Hollyhock InkHollyhock Ink

Gold gemsGold Gems

Give a Lift Stamp SetGive a Lift Stamp Set

Leave a Reply

