Christmas in July

I know, I know. I’m incredibly late with this post, but with it being July I can always go with the ‘Christmas in July’ theme. I do feel that not only is it ok to be posting about Christmas cards now, but its important to post whatever projects I’m working on. Don’t be afraid of putting yourself out there with projects even if your project is a Halloween one and its Valentines Day. You just may inspire someone!

I created these Christmas cards on a day just before my kids started their Winter Break. I felt a bit of panic when I realized that time had crunched together and I’d put off creating cards, really for anybody, but especially for my kids’ teachers for Christmas. So I hit Pinterest, because honestly who doesn’t use that as some form of inspiration. Obviously I do.

I’d been really wanting to create a card using the triple stamping with the image of a tree. Doing my research, I looked at literally hundreds of photos and watched a couple of videos before I felt I was ready to take the plunge and start working on my own piece. I loved the idea of doing a Christmas tree and utilizing greens & reds for Christmas. So this is what I came up with.

IMG_0488

I love, love, LOVE how this card turned out!

I was also drawn by the image of the string of lights. It was such a simple card with the lights and a message, but it was a very beautiful card. So I attempted two different versions, playing with the positioning of the lights. I still can’t decide which I prefer, lol. IChristmas Card 2used the Daisy White ink, which if you’ve never used it before is a thicker consistency more like paint and it takes a lot longer to dry. It does have a nice affect, but you have to plan ahead for the longer drying time.

I have plans this year to start working on Christmas cards much sooner than I did last year. So I need to start really thinking about what I want to create and perhaps try some new methods. I hope that this inspires you to start working on your Christmas cards and not wait till its crunch time. Want to snag some crafting goodies? Head to my Shoppe today!
IMG_0489

Products Used

Sparkle & Shine paper pack (Retired)

October 2015 Stamp of the Month (Retired)

 

New England Ivy InkNew England Ivy Ink

Ruby InkRuby Ink

White Daisy InkWhite Daisy Ink

Black InkBlack Ink

New England Ivy PaperNew England Ivy Cardstock

Ruby PaperRuby Cardstock

White Daisy Envelopes & Card basesWhite Daisy Card bases & Envelopes

Believe in Christmas Stamp SetBelieve in Christmas Stamp Set

Leave a Reply

